2023-2024 Graduate Catalog 
    
    May 28, 2024  
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog

Costs and Finances



Tuition and Fees

Since Southern Arkansas University is supported by legislative appropriations, the tuition and fees, which the student pays, constitute less than 40 percent of the actual cost of one’s education. Tuition and fees charged by the University are to defray, in part, the expense involved. Payment for tuition, books, and other fees may be made in cash, check, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit cards, or a student’s account may be credited by scholarships and other financial aid awards.

The University administration reserves the right to increase the costs of tuition, fees, and room and board without advance notice if it is necessary to do so in order to meet increasing costs.

Out-of-State Tuition Waiver

Master’s degree seeking students residing in the following counties qualify for the contiguous county waiver effective summer 2017:

  • Louisiana: Caddo, Bossier, Webster, Claiborne, Union, Morehouse, Carroll
  • Texas: Cass, Bowie

Out-of-state tuition for students living in Louisiana, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Missouri, Tennessee, and Texas and for children of SAU graduates living anywhere is waived when these students choose to live in University housing.

Arkansas Taxpayer Waiver

Arkansas income taxpayers and their dependents who reside in one of the eligible counties or parishes of an approved state may enroll at any qualifying Arkansas public institution of higher education and receive the out-of-state tuition waiver.

In order to get the non-resident fee waived, the following criteria must be met:

  1. Dependent student or parent must provide a W-2 or verification of Arkansas earnings of $5,500 or more tax year preceding enrollment.
  2. Student and parent must live in one of the following counties or parishes:
    • Louisiana: Claiborne, Morehouse, Union, or Webster parishes
    • Mississippi: Bolivar, Coahoma, DeSoto or Tunica counties
    • Missouri: Barry, Dunklin, McDonald, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Ripley, or Taney counties
    • Oklahoma: Adair, Delaware, LeFlore, McCurtain, or Sequoyah counties
    • Tennessee: Dyer, Lauderdale, Shelby, or Tipton counties
    • Texas: Bowie County

The Waiver of Non-resident Fees form is available in the SAU Business Office and must be submitted each semester. For more information about this waiver, call (870) 235-5045.

Arkansas Residents Aged 60 or Above

Act 678 of 1975 provides for tuition-free enrollment in academic credit courses for all Arkansas residents aged 60 or above on a “space available” basis upon proof of age. Enrollment options include credit registration (grade and transcript record), audit (no grade but a transcript record), or non-credit (no grade, no transcript record). Subsequently the University will waive the fees associated with the class.

The Age Waiver form is available in the SAU Business Office. For more information about the waiver, call (870) 235-5045.

VA Pending Payment Policy

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 (C), this educational institution adopts the following additional provisions for any students using U.S. Department of Veteran’s Affairs (VA) Post-911 G.I. Bill ® (Ch.33) or Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Ch. 31) benefits, while payment to the institution is pending from VA. This educational institution will not:

  • Prevent the student’s enrollment
  • Assess a late penalty fee to the student
  • Require the student to secure alternative or additional funding
  • Deny the student access to any resources (access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities) available to other students who have satisfied their tuition and fee bills to the institution.

However, to qualify for this provision, such students may be required to:

  • Produce the VA Certification of Eligibility (COE) by the first day of class
  • Provide a written request to be certified
  • Provide additional information needed to properly certify the enrollment as described in other institutional policies

Refund Policies for Title IV Withdrawals

When Title IV recipients withdraw on or after the first day of class during the period of enrollment for which they were charged, the University must determine the amount of Title IV funds a student has earned. This calculation is done in accordance with Federal Title IV guidelines. If the student has not been in attendance long enough to earn all of the awarded aid, the student may have to repay some of the unearned aid.

Institutional Refund Policy

During a regular academic semester, the tuition is refundable to the student who officially withdraws from the University on the following basis:

Classes in session 4 through 10 class days: 80% refund
Classes in session 11 through 15 class days: 60% refund
Classes in session 16 through 20 class days: 40% refund
Classes in session 21 through 25 class days: 20% refund

Summer school tuition is 80 percent refundable until classes have been in session two days, after which the refund decreases 20 percent for each two days classes are in session.

No refunds are made on room and board payments except under those conditions which are stated in the housing contract.